I meant to vote, really…

19 10 2008

I meant to vote. Really, I did. I was going to drag Bryan to come with me too, even though he had no interest in voting himself. I blame Google Maps; the directions I got to my nearest polling station were seriously flawed. I was directed to drive straight down my street (Balmoral), and was to turn slightly left onto Spence, as soon as I’d cross Portage. The trouble was the NO LEFT TURNS sign that forbade me from following Google Maps’ very specific instructions. So I went right, and tried to loop around the block, but unfortunately, it was Winnipeg’s turn to screw with me, by having three hundred one way streets in the downtown area. I halfheartedly tried to find my way back to the right street, but quickly lost interest, as there was only 45 minutes left in the Vote Now Please Window, and with my luck, there would only be one booth with 70 people waiting in line ahead of me. F. That. Noise. So I went to Greg’s instead.
I would have voted during the Advance Voting Days, like I normally do, if the GOA (Greater Osborne Area — yeah thats right) hadn’t been a pile of douchebags, and had delivered the voter registration cards several weeks in advance. As is the normal policy. When did our cards arrive? Friday. Four days before the election. Three of those days were taken up by Thanksgiving Weekend, a time where everyone thinks “TURKEY TURKEY STUFFING PUMPKIN PIE TURKEY CRANBERRY SAUCE” not “Hmm I’d better start considering my voting options because the election is a-comin”. In short, I was distracted by my drive home for turkey, and returned to Winnipeg and went “Uh, what? I have to vote TOMORROW? Sweet.”
Greg tells me that the GOA (yessss) is “infamously late when it comes to delivering voting information/notices/registration cards”. Damned hippies/hipsters/crack heads.
Like every other election year, I had little to no interest in the parties, candidates, or policies. I can’t help it: politics are boring. I’m more interested in American politics (as an impartial outsider) than I am in those of my own country, mostly because of all the publicity and drama and bullshit crazy woman candidates. I’m hugely entertained by the antics of Sarah Palin, and partially hope she is elected (after McCain kicks, which could happen any minute now), just so I can clap with glee when she declares war on Russia. Thats not very neighbourly, Ms Palin.
If I had received my registration card when I was supposed to, or if i had been able to find the damned polling station, I would have voted for the Green Party. I usually vote NDP, because I’m from Northwestern Ontario and the NDP are The Man in the eyes of small mining/milling/forestry-oriented communities like Thunder Bay. I keep saying “I would have voted Green because someone has to back up the hippies”. The Green party got such a tiny percentage of the votes this year, and have every year in the past, so clearly, the hippies need a little help. Besides, I’ll be damned if I would ever vote Conservative, unlike the outer perimeter of Winnipeg (rich conservative bastards). Liberal isn’t really my bag either, Communist Party is a joke. I always either vote NDP (who, apparently, have “greener” policies than the Green Party — a statement I can neither confirm nor deny) or I vote to back up the hippies who need better numbers if they’re ever going to have a say in whats hap-happening.
This is a teaser blog entry, by the way, one i’ve been working on for about a week now. Next up is the entry detailing whats new and unexciting in my life, which will be posted as soon as I possibly can.

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 10 2008
greg2point0

You FAIL at Google Maps, and making up excuses. I ask you, “Why didn’t you just walk?”

On another note, although it did actually vote, I really didn’t care too much. I have never voted for anyone who has won in my riding, and I have a certain amount of pride in that.
Canadian elections (and elections in general) are a joke. They come every four years (or less if you have a minority government like we do) to ask us what we think, but you can only express your opinion on a small piece of paper with four checkboxes. And when you have completed your patriotic duty by putting an “X” in one of those boxes you can get the hell out and shut your pie hole for another four years until we ask you for your opinion again.
The one major flaw in our voting system is that we don’t have proportional representation, which means if the guy/girl you voted for doesn’t come in first in their riding, your vote meant nothing.

19 10 2008
greg2point0

Also, How did this turn into a political blog? You should probably post something about cats or high heel shoes, so that you stop scaring people away with your snoozefest.

19 10 2008
forthesun

Oh fuck you, its not a political blog. Posting an amusing YouTube video and having a mini rant about the election does not a political blog make. Douche.

20 10 2008
Chelsea

You mean tagging it Election 2008, Politics doesn’t make it a political blog?
Dude, I totally voted on Friday! I am so excited. All the ballots come in the mail, it seems, now a days. My friend Kate is in France this year and has yet to get her ballot. She didn’t quite work it out and is just having her everyday addressed ballot sent to her. 10 days to get there, by the time it makes it back to the USA the election will be over and we will either be praised by the world or blowing it up.
Also, I love how your page highlights orange (since I am one of those spazzes who highlights and highlights and highlights while reading online.) It made my day. I wish I could augment my lj to do that. Mine would be hot pink.

20 10 2008
Craig

I’ll be in NYC for the US elections. I would be happy to write some commentary for your new political blog.

20 10 2008
forthesun

I hate all of you. I tagged it Election 2008 and Politics because thats what the entry is about. I’m never writing about anything significant or so debatable ever again.

20 10 2008
greg2point0

So are we in agreement that Emily is the new Arianna Huffington?

20 10 2008
Craig

The funny part (for me) is that I got all huffy not too long ago when I wrote about the elections in AUS and people emailed me telling me that they read my blog because it is “supposed” to be funny and would stop reading it if I kept expressing my opinion (on my blog no less). So basically, if you want to feel better, do what I did – make fun of someone elses blog when they say something meaningful…not mine though…no tagbacks.

And its likely that I will attempt to write something meaningful after the US elections that will likely be scorned so don’t be discouraged…we all still like you, it’s just more fun being mean.

20 10 2008
Craig

Oh yeah, Greg – Arianna Huffington…nice. It’s much more subtle than Poopy McPissypants.

20 10 2008
forthesun

Ugh.

21 10 2008
greg2point0

Although Poopy McPissypants is pretty good too.

Leave a Reply

