To live

2 08 2008

I just got back from a short trip to Winnipeg. Mantha and I went for a few days, her to shop, me to visit friends and to scope out my soon-to-be home. We spent a fantastic evening with Greg, Reed, and my new BFF Chad; we consumed a bottle and a half of wine each, delicately nibbled a variety of cheeses, and imploded a hole in Osborne Village with our collective geekiness. Greg and Chad drunkenly edited Greg’s flawed HTML code for his website. I laughed and Tweeted about it, and went back to talking about Team America with Sam and Reed. I woke up the next morning, with red stained lips and a horrifyingly sence that the room was spinning. Vertically as well as horizontally, with a little diagonal thrown in for good measure. All in all, it was a great trip, but I wish I could have stayed longer.

On our way to Winnipeg, Mantha and I were told two very horrifying tales. A few days earlier, a fifteen year old kid was buried/burned alive on the construction site he was working at. They were laying asphalt and the dude was in the wrong place at the wrong time. It poured all over him and when nearby workers realized what was happening, and tried to scoop the burning hot tar off of him, they burned the fuck out of their hands. There was nothing anyone could have done to help him in time. Horrifying.

Even MORE horrifying was the terror that happened a day or so before we left Thunder Bay. A man was decapitated on a Greyhound Bus (just outside of Portage La Prairie, an hour or so north of Winnipeg) by a complete stranger. This dude was asleep and was stabbed to death by the guy sitting next to him. The driver immediately stopped the bus on the side of the highway, and everyone scrambled to get off the bus, leaving the victim and the insane murderer inside. The crazy man then broke a window and started waving the victim’s severed head to taunt the passengers and police. WT.FUCK. I cannot believe that shit like this happens in real life, and the fact that there are people in this world who are that balls-out insane is a really horrifying thought. And the fact that all the nuttiness happened so close to Winnipeg makes it even worse. BUT thankfully I have my fantastic little Civic, and therefore don’t need to take a Greyhound bus anywhere makes sleeping at night without weeping in terror into my favourite pillow SO much easier.

Today, my dad’s cousin Carolyn and her boyfriend/partner Trevor came to visit. They’re from Yorkton, Saskatchewan, and I haven’t seen them since the only other time I’ve ever met them: when I was 10. They didn’t have much to say to me, which was fine, until Trevor asked about my upcoming move to Winnipeg. He kindof looks like a weathered old cowboy, and a little like Clint Eastwood, and has a sort of “I’m always right, you’re always wrong, I know more about everything and you don’t know shit” attitude, which I automatically clash with. We had one conversation that lasted long enough for me to feel like I put him in his place.

“So you’re going to Winnipeg for… what, to go to school?”

“No, I finished school, I graduated in the spring”

“Highschool?”

“Uh, no, College. I took Film Production at the college here in town. I’m going to Winnipeg to work, hopefully I’ll find work in film. But more than that, I’m just going to.. explore. And… to live“.

“To….. live?” he said with disdain

“Yes. To live. I’ve been in school my whole life, and now that I’m done, it would be great to have time to work and play and travel and explore and go to art galleries and museums and restaurants. Maybe go back to school someday, theres a great pastry chef program in Winnipeg. But for now, just to.. live. To just.. be for a while.”

“Uh huh. Live. Sounds like you have things all.. figured out” (sarcastically)

“Yeah, actually I do. I can’t wait.”

Actions

Information

One response

2 08 2008
greg2point0

WT.FUCK indeed.

On the bus ride home from work yesterday I kept nodding off for a minute or so, but the would wake up in terror at the thought that the old lady next to me might suddenly stab my head off and start waving it around for all to see. Luckily this did not happen.

Leave a Reply

